Receiving University status in 1992 Northumbria University is primarily based in the City of Newcastle upon Tyne. It is organised into four faculties, Design and Social Science, Business and Law, Engineering and Environmental, Health and Life Sciences. 

Northumbria University is ranked in the top 10 for the number of graduates entering professional employment after graduation and 21st out of UK 111 Universities for Student Satisfaction. 

Attracting students from 136 countries Northumbria has campuses in London and Amsterdam and works with other higher education institutions across the world.